Books

THE ASTONISHING COLOR OF AFTER

ASTONISHING-finished-mockup-noBG-lowres

Pre-order: AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | AMAZON UK | BOOK DEPOSITORY

Add on Goodreads!

On sale March 20th, 2018:

This gorgeously written, lyrical debut novel with magical elements is perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Haruki Murakami.

Leigh Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: when her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird.

Leigh, who is half-Asian and half-white, travels to Taiwan to stay with her maternal grandparents who she never met. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. As Leigh grieves, she uncovers family secrets, forges a new relationship with her grandparents, and tries to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and long-time secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life.

Alternating between contemporary and magic elements, past and present, romance and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a novel about finding oneself through family history, art, friendship, and love.

With lyrical prose in the vein of Laini Taylor, and an innovating structure reminiscent of A. S. King, Emily X.R. Pan’s stunning debut novel is poised for literary appeal and commercial success.



UNTITLED

BOOKTWO-finished-mockup2-noBG-lowres

Coming from Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Title and publication date to be announced.